Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India

Subject: Composition of Governing Board of IBBI

In terms of section 189 of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016, the Governing Board of IBBI consists of the following members:

(a) a Chairperson;

(b) three members from amongst the officers of the Central Government not below the rank of Joint Secretary or equivalent, one each to represent the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Corporate Affairs and Ministry of Law, *ex -officio*;

(c) one member to be nominated by the Reserve Bank of India, ex-officio;

(d) five other members to be nominated by the Central Government, of whom at least three shall be the whole-time members.

2. The term of Dr. M. S. Sahoo as Chairperson of IBBI ended on 30th September, 2021. Thereafter, the Central Government vide order dated 13th October, 2021 assigned additional charge of Chairperson, IBBI to Dr. Navrang Saini, Whole Time Member, IBBI, in addition to his existing duties for a period of three months or till the joining of a new incumbent to the post or until further orders, whichever is earlier. This additional charge was further extended by the Central Government vide order dated 4th January, 2022 till the completion of his tenure in IBBI on 5th March, 2022 or till the joining of a new incumbent to the post or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

3. Mr. Gyaneshwar Kumar Singh, who was the *ex-officio* Member as a representative of the Ministry of Corporate Affairs (MCA) in the Governing Board of IBBI was appointed as Joint Secretary in the SC/ST Commission. He served on the Governing Board of IBBI from 22nd February, 2018 to 3rd November, 2021. Thereafter, in exercise of the powers conferred by clause (b) of sub-section (1) of section 189 of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 (31 of 2016), the Central Government vide notification dated 28th January, 2022 appointed Dr. Anuradha Guru, Economic Adviser, MCA as *ex-officio* member in the IBBI to represent the MCA in the Board.

4. Further, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 189 of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 (31 of 2016), the Central Government vide notification dated 11th February, 2022 appointed Mr. Ravi Mital, as Chairperson of the IBBI for a period of five years or up to the age of sixty-five years, whichever is earlier. Mr. Ravi Mital assumed the office of the Chairperson, IBBI on 9th February, 2022.

5. Consequent to the above appointments, the Governing Board of IBBI comprises as under:

1. Mr. Ravi Mital, Chairperson, IBBI;

- 2. Dr. Navrang Saini, Whole-time Member, IBBI;
- 3. Dr. (Ms.) Mukulita Vijayawargiya, Whole-time Member, IBBI;
- 4. Mr. Sudhaker Shukla, Whole-time Member, IBBI;
- 5. Dr. Shashank Saksena, Member (Senior Economic Adviser, Department of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Finance);
- 6. Dr. Rajiv Mani, Member (Additional Secretary, Ministry of Law and Justice);
- 7. Dr. Anuradha Guru, Member (Economic Adviser, Ministry of Corporate Affairs);
- 8. Mr. Unnikrishnan A., Member (Legal Adviser, Reserve Bank of India);
- 9. Dr. Krishnamurthy V. Subramanian, Member (Professor of Finance, ISB, Hyderabad and Former Chief Economic Adviser to Government of India); and
- 10. Mr. B. Sriram, Member, (Former Managing Director & CEO, IDBI Bank Ltd.)

This is submitted for information of the Governing Board.